Product detail

The King's Return (Thomas Hill Trilogy #3)

The King's Return (Thomas Hill Trilogy #3)

Author: Andrew Swanston
Series: Thomas Hill Novels
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description
The king's coronation brings hope. Until a murderer strikes. Spring 1661. After years of civil war followed by Oliver Cromwell's joyless rule as Lord Protector, England awaits the coronation of King Charles II. The mood in London is one of relief and hope for a better future. But when two respectable gentlemen are found in a foul lane with their throats cut, it becomes apparent that England's enemies are using the newly re-established post office for their own ends. There are traitors at work and plans to overthrow the king. Another war is possible. Thomas Hill, in London visiting friends, is approached by the king's security advisor and asked to take charge of deciphering coded letters intercepted by the post office. As the body count rises and the killer starts preying on women, the action draws closer to Thomas - and his loved ones. He finds himself dragged into the hunt for the traitors and the murderer, but will he find them before it's too late?
Promotion info
Brutal murder, deceit and lies as new monarch ascends the throne in 17th century London - Andrew Swanston's new Thomas Hill historical crime thriller is spot on for fans of C J Sansom, Rory Clements and S J Parris.
Author description
After reading Law at Cambridge, Andrew Swanston held various positions in the book trade, including being a director of Waterstones and chairman of Methvens PLC, before turning to writing full time. Inspired by a lifelong interest in early modern history, his Thomas Hill novels - The King's Spy, The King's Exile and The King's Return - are set against a backdrop of the English Civil War, Cromwell's Commonwealth and the early Restoration. He is also the author of Waterloo: The Bravest Man. The first in a new series set during the reign of Elizabeth I, Incendium introduces academic, lawyer and intelligencer Dr Christopher Radcliff. Andrew Swanston lives in Surrey.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780552166126
  • : Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • : Corgi Books
  • : June 2015
  • : 198mm X 127mm X 28mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Andrew Swanston
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 448
  • : B & W map of London